The great thing about really bad days…

Is that when they get TOO BAD, at least in my life, the comedic MeloDramaMama voice in my head takes over to supply me with individually funny, one-lined zingers in response to all the stuff that goes wrong.

This may be one of the best coping mechanisms that I have ever developed. It is this voice in my head that says… WHATEVER YOU DO DO NOT GOOGLE SEA OTTERS.

I used to follow I Fucking Love Science on FB, until I realized that A., the moderator promotes the most biased view-point in regards to science, that which states that any sniff of inferiority from non-science and math people must be bagged on (ie, the Richard Dawkins quote

It has become almost a cliche to remark that nobody boasts of ignorance of literature, but it is socially acceptable to boast ignorance of science and proudly claim incompetence in mathematics. — Richard Dawkins)

even though there is a recognized and probably underdiagnosed learning disability in math. And B., that the moderator was the sort of sick and twisted person that would relate the truth about sea otters, thus making it impossible to look at them as anything more than cute little homicidal maniacs.

Some people are overly-invested in bringing others down.

I’d rather point out truths to others or crack jokes to lift them up. Hence my tendency to shout DON’T GOOGLE SEA OTTERS! at random times.

Richard Dawkins may know a bit about math and science, but he’s obviously never heard of logic or “false dichotomies”. Those who show a great literacy in, well, words, are not inherently boasting that they are poor in math.

I should know, I am one of them. It is something I have and continue to struggle with. I try, but the more advanced the task, the more confused I get in the learning process and the less able I am to retain the information. I only needed to read Mr. Dawkins pithy little bit of smarmy BS once to remember enough of it to easily look it up online.

And the first time I read it was MONTHS ago.

Because of this, I can laugh off people like him, because as smart and superior as he might feel, he is no match for the MeloDramaMama voice in my head that says…Whatever, Mr. Mockins. Nobody has time for your smart arse mouth, but if you think you’re so much better than you just go ahead and dare to do what only a smart arse would do… Google sea otters.

Or Ze Frank’s The Truth About Ducks.

(fyi… DON’T GOOGLE ZE FRANK’S THE TRUTH ABOUT DUCKS… like the thing about sea otters, it cannot be unlearned and will give you a complex).

On really bad days, it is more important than ever that we remember two things…

Nobody is completely without people who actually care… accept those who don’t want to be cared about.

AND

The internet is full of funny memes that aren’t inherently offensive to someone, and is also home to Ze Frank.

On that note, I will leave you with….

True Facts About Morgan Freeman!

Would have embedded it, if such a thing were allowed. ENJOY!  I also highly recommend

Kindness Dammit

I feel better now. I don’t know about you.

Leave a Reply

